We use cookies to improve your browsing experience on our website, analyze site traffic and personalize content. By closing the message or continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.

Skip to main content

orange lake resort

Orange Lake ResortRental Guest Reviews

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

4.2/5 

(3,804 reviews) 

powered by 

Each review and rating we receive is verified to ensure that we display only information provided by guests who have actually stayed at the resort. Write a Review

Monie10

April 13, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Uncomfortable stay

Experienced roaches in my 'villa' in the East Village so if you see several reviews about this, please know that they are not isolated incidents. Resort is very nice and spacious floor plan, but the roaches made for an uncomfortable stay.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Vaca Time

April 13, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Eh, not the best resort

The first impression was great! Unfortunately the welcoming staff made my choices for me and didn't explain anything to me. The person who checked me in, decided not to preauthorize my credit card so I missed out on the points for my purchases. Then, they used my coupon to sign me up for a resort tour but failed to tell me I get charged $30 for not going (they removed it later). Then, the room was nice. The beds were great. We tried to get ahold of someone for late check-out so we could do the tour but I was on hold for a long time. When I tried a second time, I was transfered five times between the same two people. They kept telling me someone else was in charge of that and transfered me back and forth. This prevented me from doing the tour and had stand in line to get the $30 removed. Beyond that, we also found underwear at the pool area by the main building and there was mold on the shower curtain. It appeared that the cleaning staff didn't move the curtain or look at it to verify it's cleanliness. Overall, I was dissapointed given the price I paid and what my IHG expecation is. I stay with IHG Monday - Friday every week and that was seriously dissappointing.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Jen17

March 29, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

time sharing

Asked to attend a 90 minute presentation on check in to get some half price coupons for the facilities activities ( which on booking we thought were part of the package) it was actually 3 hours. Told if you say no thanks at presentation the facilitators will accept your answer.This was not the case. My husband was ridiculed and they tried to use myself and my family as an example referring to him at one time as selfish. Once they realized we were not buying we were shown the door - literally. We had to ask someone how to get back to our car. In the beginning we actually considered purchasing but we wanted to speak with our family first- this is not allowed. Then the nasty hard sell began. It put a sour taste in our mouth and a poor beginning to what should have been a great vacation. I would not go back. We were also not told how to initially get to our room, what to do with garbage during the week, we had to look for a bin and there is no housekeeping service. It would be helpful if the resort included housekeeping information in their room books and how to access the amenities. such as walking trail maps, golf and water amenities. I would recommend this resort with a caution about avoiding the time sharing presentation.

Yes, I recommend this property.

BlueRoom269

April 11, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Great resort and good service some requests not met

This was my families second visit to Orange Lake Resort. We stayed at the River Island Tower which is where we stayed 2 years ago as well. We decided to stay longer this time because we enjoyed our time there so much 2 years ago. We pretty much had the same experience and my family had a great vacation. My only criticism/sort of complaint is the last time we stayed on the top floor (I'm an IHG Gold member and I always request top floor) which is the 8th floor in this case. We requested the "garden" side which is opposite the waterpark because we enjoyed watching the fireworks from Disney World from our patio each night (I think most people request the waterpark side). I requested the top floor on this side again when I reserved the room 7 months in advance. I also called the week before our arrival to reiterate my preference. When I arrived I was told we were on the 7th floor. I re-requested my original preference to the receptionist. I was then told that the 8th floor is suites only. Knowing we had stayed on the 8th floor previously and it was not a suite I knew this was not true. But I just checked in as we were tired and wanted to get settled. Being on the 7th floor partially obstructed our view of the fireworks due to some trees and unfortunatley the last two nights our neighbors over our head seemed to be running a track meet. So that was somewhat dissappointing. From the parking lot I could clearly see the condo/rooms on the garden side 8th floor were clearly exactly the same as what we had on this visit and what we had on our prior visit. There is no way they were "suites". It appears the waterpark side may be suites but the side I requested were not. So overall we still had a great stay but it was marred slightly by the receptionist not being forthright about not meeting our requested preference and some slightly loud neighbors our last two nights. (I request the top floor for this very reason, no one is over you) I would recommend Orange Lake especially if you have a larger family. The Condo/rooms have quite a bit of space and are furnished very nicely. We will most likely be back but I will be disappointed if our requests are not met next time and may consider another location for our future Florida trips if that happens. I know preferences cannot be guaranteed but I have never had a problem with IHG hotels previously with most preferences. Especially with the considerable advance notice and follow up I usually give and gave in this instance.

Yes, I recommend this property.

FarmerBR549

April 4, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Best Family Vacation Resort

We had a excellent time at this resort. Our children did not want to leave the resort, because there was so many different activities for them to do--multiple swimming pools, lazy river, putt-putt golf, and organized sports activities. We are already planning a return trip.

Yes, I recommend this property.

KBWW

April 13, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Two day stay 11-12April2014

After my recent stay at your facility in Orlando I felt compelled to comment about your exercise facility(EF). As a Mother of a 10 year old my use of an exercise facility is an important part of the day but must be a scheduled visit. Your EF does not open until 7am. I inquired to the front desk staff if it was possible for me to enter the EF at 515am. I was told NO. When I asked why, "it is policy" was the answer. Never a great answer when you are over 16 years of age.. I travel every week for my job and I have never been denied a request to get into the exercise room early. It is always "at your own risk" no matter what is posted or where you go. Being denied the EF resulted in me having to go outside at 515am. This would not be so bad except your entire resort is without sidewalks. Later the same day I saw women with strollers staying close to the sides of the road as other guests sped by. I must also mention that the resort facility trucks drive very fast in the morning and many did not seem to notice me. I think vacation is about rest, fun and family in your resort. Though not for everyone, exercise may be part of it too. If it is few and far between, would it be terrible to accommodate those who want to exercise but require to get it in early so the rest of our morning CAN BE rest and family? Maybe there will even be a little left for Mickey Mouse too. Thank you Kimberly

None apparently

April 13, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

No one ever came to clean the room

The place was nice but cleaning staff never came to clean our room during our stay. They never came to give us new towels, no toilet paper or no anything. We had to go through the hotel looking for toilet paper and new clean towels.

Heath_39

April 12, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Customer service

I had to wait an hour after checking in for house keeping to clean a room for me. I did check in after check in time. The next morning housekeeping was knocking on the door at 8am wanting us to check out so they can clean my room. Check out isnt til 10am. Check in was slow due to long line. and on the site didnt say we wont be close to the lazy river and we where across the resort. I had thought we where within walking to the lazy river.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Lunar

April 11, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

TROPICAL FEEL

The resort was gorgeous, clean and proximity to Disney was fantastic. We were aware prior to vacationing that the resort charges to rent inner tubes etc. We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo @ River island & we were happy with the room accommodations. Unfortunately, our first night we were awakened by the fire alarm having to evacuate the building @ 1:30 A.M. & sat outside for an hour in our P.J's with no explanation. The following day I called management & found out some fool pulled the alarm. Thought we would be offered some sort of compensation, perhaps Free inner tube rentals but nothing. Additionally, it was Spring Break & we could hear our neighbors all night long. Finally, our last night I called the front desk & security told them to tone it down. Next time might try the villas....maybe more quiet.

Bren01

April 4, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Great Vacation Experience

First time staying at Orange Lake Resort. The Resort has plenty of activities to do on site. Our family enjoyed the large pool area at RI the most. Stayed in a 2 bedroom villa which was very comfortable. Staff at check in very friendly and helpful. Would visit this resort again.

Yes, I recommend this property.